While some of the books I review on my site are furnished by the publishers, authors, or publicists for the purpose of review all of my reviews are truthful, honest, and my sincere opinion.

Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Guest Blogger: C. Fern Cook

It's another guest blogger day! Today we have author C. Fern Cook author of the series The Wild Series including Wild Evolution, Wild Justice and Wild Legacy. So let's see what Fern has to share with us today!

Fern's post:

The Wild series began when I was a patrol deputy in the Colorado Mountains. I worked in a county that was cattle country. As charming as that seems, many of the ranchers killed anything that crossed their property they didn't like.

This did not sit well with me, the great animal lover that I am, I believe all animals have right to live on this planet. As a patrol deputy, I could do nothing about it unless it was an endangered species or poaching involved.

I have always been the storyteller, I imagined a rancher that shared his land with all creatures including the dreaded wolf. This turned into a skin walker or werewolf story. A good story always takes on a life of its own. While I was writing the series, the story developed in ways I had never imagined when I first set out to write the first book.

What would happen if you were attacked by a vicious animal? What if that animal turned out to be human, a changeling? Would you tell the cops about the person you killed in self-defense? Would you hide the body and tell no one? Who would believe your story?

How would this affect the rest of your life? How could you put this behind you and just forget about it? Wouldn't you be on edge? Suspicious of everyone? How could you live a normal life from then on, especially if you became the creature that attacked you?

Wild Evolution is about how Dan chooses to hide the body because he thinks no one would believe his story. He worries that if anyone found out, he would be charged with murder. It is hard to be a mellow when you are obsessed with keeping your secret a secret.

Wild Justice is the continuation, how Dan tries to live a normal life and get married and have family. How he tries to live the American dream of owning his own business.
Wild Legacy continues with Dan's attempt to raise a family and try to blend in with the rest of the community. This is how the Wild series evolved.

The characters are composite of people I have met through my real life experiences. The first in the series has a great deal of crime scene processing in it. The law enforcement officers are composites of officers I had worked with. The crime scene processing is as real life as possible; this comes from my experience as a crime scene investigator when I worked with Boulder PD.

Just like my books, I have also evolved as a writer doing this series. I have learned a lot from the feedback from readers. I enjoy hearing from readers and hear about what they think. I invite any questions you might have about the series, my writing, or experiences in law enforcement.

Thank you Fern for your post. I too LOVE animals and it hurts me to hear that about people who kill animals without justification. I would imagine that having to deal with those kinds of issues on a regular basis was difficult to deal with. I also love that your love of animals is what lead to this series!!! To all the readers, please feel free to leave comments for Fern and when she returns to JustJenniferReading for another blog post on October 12th she will be answering your questions. In the mean time you can learn more about Fern's books on her website.

Fern has also agreed to give one lucky reader a set of The Wild Series!!! So look for the contest post (link will be added later today)!


peggy e. said...

Thanks for the nice intro

peggy e. said...

You long did you work for sherriff's Dept?